SEKC Holds 2018 Work Ethic Award Reception

  • Share:
June 12, 2018
On May 1, 2018, the Southeast Kentucky Chamber of Commerce honored 74 high school seniors who completed the Chamber’s Work Ethic Award Program. This year’s reception, held at Hilton Garden Inn-Pikeville, was sponsored by US Bank. More than 130 were in attendance to see the award-winning students receive their medallions.

The Work Ethic Award Program is one in which any senior, with a 2.5 GPA or higher, hard work, and dedication can receive an award and possible scholarship. In September of each year, seniors sign-up to complete the program, find a sponsoring teacher at their school, and then, throughout a six-month period, are judged on and scored in the following areas by their teacher and guidance counselor: attendance, excused/unexcused absences, punctuality, discipline, achievement, community service, dependability, respectfulness, cooperation, and work ethic. 

Students who complete the program’s criteria are awarded a certificate and medallion. Those students then become eligible to enter an essay contest to win one of six cash awards. Anthem Kentucky Medicaid, Appalachian Wireless, Citizens Bank of Kentucky, Coca Cola Bottling Company, Gearheart Communications, and Goodwill Industries of Kentucky each sponsored a $500-dollar award.

Kelly Wells, head men’s basketball coach for the University of Pikeville delivered the keynote address on the importance of work ethic and being a team player. Coach Wells shared the top characteristics of individuals with exceptional work ethic, advised the audience to do the required work and then push yourself to do the unrequired work, and to be a life-long learner. 

Coach Wells ended his address with a quote from Nelson Mandela, “There is no passion to be found playing small – in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living”.

Students who completed the 2018 Work Ethic Award are: 

Belfry High School: Shelby Bailey, Shawnalea Lincoln, Selina May, and Steven May

East Ridge High School: Rachel Bartley, Haley Bentley, Kerigan Blackburn, Tori Coleman, Sydney Freeman, Alexandria Hagy, Autumn Jones, Caitlin Phillips, Savannah Potter, Alona Rogers, Savannah Rumfield, Benjamin Skeens, Megan Slone, Jacklyn Stiltner, Britney Tackett, Mickey Thompson, and Ethan Wells

Letcher County ATC: Brooke Saurer

Phelps High School: Kaylee Fannin, Elizabeth Gross, and Breanna Smith

Pike County Central High School: Kyle Adkins, Chase Chapman, Kassidy Childers, Seth Conn, Brinley Elkins, Brice Elkins, Miah Elswick, Isiah Iricks, Jimmy Ray, Chloe Weddington, and Teddi Young

Pikeville High School: Haseeb Ahmad, Cody Burke, Alex Chang, Walker Hall, Kenzi Lee, Cassidy Lowe, Collin Noud, Evan Rhodes, Ally Sizemore, Elisabeth Staggs, Alexis Stanley, Natasha Terry, Paige Workman, and Justin Wright

Shelby Valley High School: Kristen Hicks and Madison Tackett

Sheldon Clark High School: Adrian Baisden, Alexis Bowen, Brent Burke, Jeremy Copley, Latasha Dalton, Ciara Dye, Brody Eller, Matthew Fannin, Carley Fraley, Wesley Goble, Amber Goforth, Lyndsey Horn, Jada Howell, Samuel Lowe, Kaitlyn Maynard, Lindsey Milleson, Hannah Moore, DeAndra Newsome, Abby Nichols, Sam Robinson, Kaitlyn Stepp, and Ethan Wiley

Work Ethic Essay Winners: 
Ciara Dye, Sheldon Clark,  sponsored by Anthem Kentucky Medicaid
Jacklyn Stiltner, East Ridge, sponsored by Appalachian Wireless
Jimmy Ray, Pike Central, sponsored by Citizens Bank of Kentucky
Megan Slone, East Ridge, sponsored by Coca-Cola Bottling Company
Ethan Wiley, Sheldon Clark, sponsored by Gearheart Communications
Kristen Hicks, Shelby Valley, sponsored by Goodwill Industries of Kentucky